Who We Support

We are made up of several distinct support teams that provide the following services to the Social Sciences Division:

Desktop Support Group

A centrally organized Divisional group of full-time staff members who bring desktop computing skill sets matched to the needs of the faculty groups they support. 

  • Anthropology
  • Center for the Economics of Human Development
  • Human Development
Nelson Balbarin
rnb@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-0134
Office: Haskell M116
  • Area Centers
  • Political Science
  • Social Thought
  • MAPSS
Carla Smith
crsmith@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-1348
Office:  Pick 126
  • History
  • Sociology
Vincent Johnson
johnsonv.uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 795-6226
Office: SSRB 316
 
  • Psychology
Shomari Tate
shomaritate@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 795-6995
Office: Beecher 306
  • NORC Research Centers
  • Survey Lab
  • Social Sciences Computing Services
  • CDEPR
  • Local Business Center
  • Dean's Office
  • Aux & Human Resources
Kerry Sharkey
klsharkey@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-8194
Office: 1155 025
  • Economics
Cory Martin
cmartin01@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-1227
Office: 5736 S Woodlawn Rm 001
  • IMB
Scott Bradwell
sdbradwe@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 792-8173
Office: 1155 Room 059D

 

Administrative Support Group

This group supports the Division's Local Business Center, which performs the procurement, grants, contracts, and payroll functions for the Division.

  • Deans Office
  • Auxiliary Services
  • Local Business Center
Scott Schaafsma
scotts@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 795-4287
Office: 1155, Room 059B

 

Server Support Group

This group consists of a team of IT experts who bring skill sets related to  systems administration and end user application support for Divisional faculty and graduate students.

  • SSD Academic Applications Support
  • Instructional Outreach
Steve Mohr
smohr@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-4938
Office: 5736 S. Woodlawn
  • Anthropology Computing Center
  • Political Science
Bart Longacre
blongacr@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-2975
Office: Haskell M116
  • Center on Computational Psychology
Jeff Beer
jeffb@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-4830
Office: Green 219
  • Economics
John Lodder
jlodder@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-0733
Office: 5736 S. Woodlawn
  • NORC Research Centers
  • Survey Lab
  • Institute of Mind and Biology
Scott Bradwell
sdbradwe@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-4479
Alt Ph: (773) 702-8173
1155 Office: 1155 059
IMB Office: BPSB 126
  • Sociology
Barton Longacre
blongacr@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-2975
Office: Haskell M-116
  • SSCS Development
Lucas Coady
lucas@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-2607
Office: 1155 - Rm 023

 

Geographical Information Systems

This group consists of full-time and part-time employees who assist Divisional faculty and staff in the use of GIS technologies and spatial analysis methods for research purposes.

  • Social Science Division
  • NORC Research Centers

Todd Schuble
tschuble@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-4225
Office: 1155 049b

Chieko Maene
cmaene@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-0469
Office: 1155 049a

 

Data Archive Group

This group consists of one full-time and two half-time staff members to provide assistance for researchers to explore important issues in social sciences research.

  • Social Science Division
  • NORC Research Centers
Jiaqiang Chen
chenj@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-7404
Office: 1155 055b
 
Wenjun Liu
wliu1@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-1510
Office: 1155 055c
 
Jingsheng Zhu
jszhu@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-6962
Office: 1155 055a